121 S. Wilke Road, Suite 301, Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Home and Hospital Visits for Your Convenience

Call for a FREE Phone Consultation

847-797-8000

Video Consultations Also Available


3 Things a Driver Should Never Do After a Car Accident

Posted on in Car Accident

Rolling Meadows auto accident attorney

While it is true our roadways may be less congested lately due to the pandemic situation that has swept across our nation, less congestion does not necessarily mean we are at reduced risk for car accidents or injuries. In fact, recent studies show that reckless driving has been on the rise since the COVID-19 crisis has emerged, and it is important to remember to obey state driving laws now more than ever. In order to protect other drivers and to account for the increase in pedestrian activity occurring in our communities due to the stay-at-home orders that have been in effect, continuing to drive defensively is critical. 

The Aftermath of a Collision

Despite your safe driving measures, you may still find yourself a victim of a reckless driving incident due to the actions of other motorists. It is important to know how to respond immediately following the collision. A recent, updated list of guidelines released by the state of Illinois offers specific instructions to drivers to inform them of what to do or not to do at the scene of a crash. Here are three things you should never do after a car accident:

  1. Ignore injuries or delay seeking medical attention - It is all too common for drivers to ignore potential injuries or to put off seeking medical attention after a car accident. In many cases, you may not even be aware that you have an injury, as many conditions can sneak up on you later after the shock of the collision has worn off. The State of Illinois advises that drivers call 911 immediately and to assist anyone else who may be injured if possible. 

  2. Neglect to file a crash report - Illinois law requires drivers involved in a collision that results in some kind of bodily injury or property damage of more than $1,500 to file a crash report. Alternatively, if any driver involved in the crash is uninsured, it is mandatory to file a report if there is $500 or more in damages. No matter who is at fault for the accident, most cities and towns within the state of Illinois require a crash to be reported to the authorities within 30 minutes of the incident. You should call the police right away. If there is a passenger with you, and you are injured and unable to call, the passenger should call the authorities on your behalf. If for some reason an officer does not arrive at the scene of the crash, the law requires you to file the report at the nearest police station as soon as possible.

  3. Flee the scene - Whatever you do, it is imperative that you do not leave the scene of the crash without speaking to others who were involved and exchanging contact information, regardless of the circumstances. Any driver who is found to flee from an accident that involves some kind of personal injury will be subject to criminal charges. Motorists who leave a crash site can face a Class A misdemeanor, punishable up to one year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine. If a driver left the scene of an accident that involved more than $1,000 in damages, the Secretary of State’s office will suspend their driver’s license, and if the accident resulted in a personal injury or death, their license will be revoked.  

Contact a Palatine Personal Injury Lawyer 

The moments following a car accident can leave you stunned or in a haze, and you may begin to panic and have the desire to flee the scene. However, it is crucial that you stay put, call the authorities, attend to any injuries, and file any necessary police reports. You should speak to a competent Arlington Heights car accident attorney as soon as possible after an accident and determine your options for pursuing compensation for your injuries and damages. At Newland & Newland LLP, we are equipped to fight for your rights to compensation and we will work to protect your rights and your best interests. Call our office today at 847-797-8000 to schedule your free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.usnews.com/news/health-news/articles/2020-04-23/reckless-driving-on-the-rise-during-covid-19-pandemic

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_a112.pdf

Elite Lawyer Badge Illinois State Bar Association Illinois Trial Lawyers Asscociation NACBA Manta Member BBB North western suburban bar association 10 Best Personal Injury Law Firms
Back to Top