121 S. Wilke Road, Suite 301, Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Home and Hospital Visits for Your Convenience

Call for a FREE Consultation

847-797-8000

Actions Every Driver Should Take After a Car Accident in Illinois

Posted on in Car Accident

Rolling Meadows auto accident lawyer

Whether you are involved in a minor fender-bender in a quiet, suburban area or find yourself a victim in a serious rear-end car accident, the moment you experience a crash, panic naturally takes over and can leave you feeling disoriented and unsure of what to do next. During those critical moments just after the collision, it can be difficult to push through the mental wave of shock, but the decisions you make amidst the aftermath are the most important and can make a significant difference in the outcome of the incident.

State Law Advisory for Drivers After a Crash

No matter where you are involved in a car accident, there are certain steps you need to take after the collision, like taking care of your health first and foremost. The state of Illinois advises all drivers to do the following after a crash and to be aware that failure to adhere to some of these practices could mean breaking the law:

  • Move vehicle to avoid obstructing traffic - The Illinois Secretary of State urges drivers to move their vehicles out of the way immediately after a crash if possible, preferably in a safe, well-lit public area that does not obstruct traffic flow around the scene of the accident. Should you leave your vehicle in the direct path of passerby traffic, there is a chance that the obstruction may place others in danger by causing other accidents to take place around the scene. Drivers are also advised to use flares and emergency flashers to warn other drivers of the accident. 

  • Assess injuries and call 911 - If any drivers involved in the crash are hurt and in need of help or ask for assistance in any way, you must call 911 immediately. Avoid making assumptions about your own injuries. Many injuries tend to surface with time, and some symptoms are not visible to the human eye. Wait for paramedics to arrive at the scene and describe your symptoms, if any, as best as you can, to help them better assist you.

  • Furnish proof of insurance - You should exchange basic information with any other drivers involved in the crash, including names, addresses, phone numbers, license plate numbers, and driver’s license numbers. Additionally, you must furnish proof of insurance, as you must exchange insurance information with each driver to address damages and to prove that you meet state insurance coverage minimum standards.

  • File a crash report - The Illinois State Police requires you to file a crash report if it results in death or bodily injury, or if any driver incurred more than $1,500 worth of property damage. If any of the drivers are uninsured, the damage threshold minimum for filing a report is $500. If for some reason a police officer does not show up at the scene, you can file a report yourself as soon as possible at the sheriff’s office or local police department. 

Contact a Schaumburg Car Accident Lawyer

In the event you experience any injuries from a collision, protecting your health and well-being begins with knowing your rights. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a dedicated Rolling Meadows personal injury attorney as soon as possible. At Newland & Newland, LLP, our experienced lawyers are qualified and equipped to defend your rights to compensation and handle your case effectively in a court of law. Schedule a free consultation by calling our office today at 847-797-8000.

 

Sources:

https://www.isp.state.il.us/traffic/crashreports.cfm

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_a112.pdf

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/drivers_license/SR-22_uninsured_crashes/safefinlaw.html

 

Elite Lawyer Badge Illinois State Bar Association Illinois Trial Lawyers Asscociation NACBA Manta Member BBB North western suburban bar association
Back to Top